Revision [288]

This is an old revision of WebsiteAboutContent made by ChrisMarcum on 2010-12-11 14:40:40.

 

About Me

I am a sixth-year graduate student in the Department of Sociology at the University of California - Irvine. My research interests include aging and the life course, social interaction and network dynamics, and demography. My dissertation research focuses on health and structural explanations of age differences in day-to-day social interaction. I work in Professor Carter Butts's Networks, Computation, and Social Dynamics Lab (ncasd.org) where my work focuses on organizational responses to disasters, improvisation in disaster response, and relational event modeling of social interaction. This lab research is supported by grants from the National Science Foundation and the Office of Naval Research. I also taught urban demography as an adjunct lecturer at the University of Southern California. I recently received several prestigious professional accolades including: selected as a finalist for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health and Society Scholars program; received an Honorable Mention Public Impact Fellowship for my dissertation research from the University of California - Irvine; and, awarded the Order of Merit Award from the UCI School of Social Sciences for outstanding service to Graduate students as a health policy advocate.

In addition to my academic career, I am an avid photographer and enthusiastic amateur naturalist. My photographs have been featured in galleries in Arizona and California. Before attending graduate school I worked as a Curatorial Assistant at the Arizona Historical Society in Arizona, where I curated exhibits, developed educational programs, and managed a photography archive. In the past, I've worked in a number of unusual jobs including: nordic ski-instructor & nordic ski-patrol at The Balsams, trail crew leader for the US Fish and Wildlife Service, lumbersmith at Paul Vallee Lumber Co, and demographic consultant for Citadel Law Firms.

A few years back, my father and I built a restaurant in Whitefield, New Hampshire called the Woodburn House (now closed) together. The tale of the restaurant was featured in Dick Gordon's interview with me on NPR's The Story.

Education


My CV can be found here.

General

I live in Long Beach, California with my wife, Kate Leah Marcum. Kate is a counselor at an in-patient facility that treats teenagers struggling with substance abuse. We have a small dog, Max. Kate is originally from Tuolumne, County, California and I am from Coos, County, New Hampshire. We own a white 1990 GMC Vandura converted into a SportsMobile pop-top camper called Beluga, which is pretty much the most awesome thing in the world.
Valid XHTML :: Valid CSS: :: Powered by WikkaWiki